Healthy baby, healthy mama

Each birth and birth experience I have attended is different and unique. The natural birth community have been fighting hard to be heard and respected, therefore sometimes it can feel misleading and some women can feel judged on their experience if it wasn’t ‘natural’.

I adore Ina May Gaskin’s books, here is a great interview with her and a woman who felt betrayed and guilty about how her experience played out because of the use of medical interventions. I like to talk to clients about being flexible (not just physically) and to remember the goal of healthy baby, healthy mama. I am not a big fan of ‘the birth plan’, but I do believe in a birth visualization/meditation practice. Birth is unique, it is not competitive.

http://www.longestshortesttime.com/2014/04/16/podcast-28-the-missing-chapter-to-ina-mays-guide/

Leave a comment